The scary horse puppet.

3 Nov

Last night at bedtime, we had our first experience with one of our kids being scared to tears and not wanting to go to bed. We’ve been asked about monsters before, but usually they take our word for it that monsters don’t exist, so its a quick conversation and no tears are involved. Well, last night was a different story.

Addi tells us that she doesn’t want to go to bed because of the horse that comes in her room. What? She went on to explain that the night before last, a horse came in her room and gave her a kiss. A kiss? Not a kiss! And she did NOT want the horse to come in again. Of course we tried to tell her that horses don’t come in houses, our doors our locked, he’s not real but if he were Daddy wouldn’t let him in, maybe she dreamed it, etc. She was highly upset and it delayed her bedtime about fifteen minutes. Might have been part of the plan? But regardless, I felt bad for her…my poor baby was scared!

We asked Kamryn, “Did you see a horsey?” hoping she would say no, to ease her sister’s mind. Well, her response was, “Yes! And a bear came too and said ‘ROAR’ to me and I hit him.” Oh my, what imaginations! Kamryn did try to comfort Addi by saying things like, “I like horses and sheep too.” and “If a horse comes in the door, Daddy will spank it.”

Finally after asking a series of questions to get to the root of her fear, we found out that there is a scene in one of our Baby Einstein videos (which they really don’t ever watch anymore, since they are older), where a puppet horse scares his friends by peeking his head through a door. A boo! She doesn’t like that part, says its not nice and apparently has made her scared to go to bed. In case you haven’t seen this horse, here he is. Pretty scary looking huh?

He better leave my baby alone & stop trying to give her smooches at night! Or else, Daddy will spank him.

2 Responses to “The scary horse puppet.”

  1. Roscoe Dixon November 3, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    “Yes! And a bear came too and said ‘ROAR’ to me and I hit him.” Gotta love it–

    I remember seeing that horse now on Baby Einstein, years ago when I was in Quitman, makes sense, crazy stuff. I hope they don’t have to worry about any puppet horses again…

  2. crisco November 17, 2010 at 10:59 pm #

    Love this story….laugh out loud funny….maybe you just have to have kids…or maybe its funny if you know your girls! So cute. In case you are wondering how I am able to respond….I am picking up some random wireless internet tonight and thought I would browse your blog. Long overdue I know!!! Who knew what a great writer you are!!! Love you

Leave a Reply

