A recent conversation…

25 Oct

Addi, “Mommy, I want Grandma to pick me up from school one day, so she can see my new school.”

Kamryn, “Yeah and I want Poppy to pick me up so he can see my new school too.”

Addi, “Poppy can’t pick you up because he’s going to be in heaven for 100 years. Right mom, 100 years?”

Me, “He’ll be in heaven forever baby, but one day we’ll see him again when we go there.”

Addi, “I don’t want to heaven, I want to stay with Daddy!”

Me, “Oh, heaven is awesome, there’s nothing to be scared of there. It’s perfect! And we can all be there together with Poppy.”

Kamryn, “Well, I do. I want to go there. Mommy, I can hold your hand and we can fly to the sky to Jesus.”

Addi, “Maybe Daddy, Mommy, Kamryn, and Addi can all get in our car and have wings on it and fly there together.”

I love that my girls still talk about Poppy and they miss him so. He was a big part of their little, innocent lives. Addi recently had a bag of jelly beans and picked out all the black ones for Poppy, like she used to. He was the only one that liked licorice. She gets very sad when she talks about him and even tears up sometimes. They obviously don’t understand the whole concept of heaven and death at this young age, but they have surprisingly understood more than what I thought they would. So sweet and tender-hearted. I love my precious babies!

3 Responses to “A recent conversation…”

  1. Ryan Marc Dixon October 25, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    big smile 😀

  2. Mom October 25, 2010 at 3:13 pm #

    you just cannot imagine the joy that these 2 special little girls bring to my aching heart. i am so proud of the job that you and ryan are doing with them. keep up the good work. i love you all so much.

  3. Jaime D. October 25, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    Everytime I read your blogs I still get teary eyed thinking about your dad. I am getting that way as I type this. You are right, he was a very special man that was taken too soon, in my opinion, but God needed him more. But you were so blessed to have such an amazing father. I have one like that, but His name is Jesus! Thanks for always remembering him!

Leave a Reply

