Happy birthday, Jeff!

24 Oct

My little brother Jeff has always been the hugest Rangers fan. I mean, he is serious about it. He watches every single game and if he can’t for some reason (work, school, etc), he records it and watches it later. Talk about dedication, do you know how long baseball games are?! When we would go to my parent’s house, Mom, Dad and Jeff would always seem to be watching the Rangers and usually all be wearing some kind of Rangers paraphernalia. It was cute.

My Dad took Jeff to a lot of games in Arlington – memory makers, as he called them. They would go early for hitting practice and stay through to the end, even if it was very late. And even when Dad had to work the next day. He even took the family a couple of times. Such fun! My Dad loved baseball & the Rangers.  This passion for baseball was a big thing that he & Jeff shared – it was “their” time together. Jeff also played baseball throughout High School and my parents loved being involved, going to his games to cheer him on.

I can’t tell you how special it is for the Rangers to make it to the World Series FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER the same year that my Dad passed away. Also, just so happened to be the same weekend as Jeff’s 20th birthday. What a birthday present! When the 9th inning came to an end and the fireworks started at the Ballpark in Arlington, tears were flowing all around. This is more than just about baseball for my family, it is more of a huge celebration of years of cheering them on together and all the wonderful memories that were made…especially for Jeff. I love you Jeff & am so proud of the man you have become! And of course, you know Dad is too.

One Response to “Happy birthday, Jeff!”

  1. Deanna Sargent October 24, 2010 at 6:35 pm #

    Hey Tracy,
    I loved what you had to say about baseball, your family and your brother. My dad was a huge Astros fan and the year he died was the best season they had in years and I kept thinking my dad was pulling some strings from Heaven. Of course they didn’t make it as far as the Rangers have but reading the comments from your mom and Jeff on facebook have brought back so many memories. My thoughts and prayers are with you all. I know the holidays will be hard for you all but I know your dad and my dad are in Heaven and will be waiting for us when we go to meet them.

Leave a Reply

