Dear Dad

9 Jun

Unconditional love. That is what you taught me and that is what you gave me. Me and so many others. You were always there for me. When I made a mistake, you were there to help, no matter the circumstance. When I needed advice and didn’t know what to do next, you would tell me to “do the next right thing.” You listened. You loved. You made me feel special.

Making memories was important to you…our “deer hunting” adventures while singing silly songs, bull nettle busting around our house you built in the country, tossing washers in the shop on snowy days, all of our Mexico Mission trips, running races together, and the list goes on and on. Now more than ever, these memory makers are treasured. They are priceless and I will never forget the wonderful times we had together.

You were the strongest person I’ve ever known. You were a rock. We always knew that Dad would know what to do. “We’ll ask Dad.” “Dad can do it.” “We’ll get Dad to help.” “Dad will know.” These were common phrases around the Dixon household, as we knew we could always count on Dad – for anything, anytime, anywhere. He was there for us and with a smile on his face.

My Addi loves her Poppy and sweet Kamryn certainly adores her Hoppy. I love how God orchestrated the last two years of our lives to live right here close to you so our girls could get to know you. We will never let them forget you Dad.

You lived life to the fullest. You always said you loved mornings because you woke up with an excitement for what each day may bring. You wanted so badly to make your life count and leave a legacy. I couldn’t be more proud of you as I stand here today and say that you’ve done it Dad…you accomplished your goal. You’ve run a great race. And now my goal is to carry on that zeal and passion – to make each day count. To make memories whenever possible with those that I love.

There was, nor ever will be, a doubt in my mind that you loved me. I couldn’t have asked for a better Dad and I will forever be grateful that God blessed me with you.

As I used to say every night when I was a little girl, “Good night Daddy, I love you Daddy.”

Traci

11 Responses to “Dear Dad”

  1. Kelly June 9, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    Beautifully said little sis. Very proud of you!

  2. Gail June 10, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    Amazing tribute! You are a very lucky girl to have such a great dad and wonderful memories!

  3. Jennifer L. June 10, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    Well done Traci. He sounds like he was an amazing dad. Praying for strength and comfort for you and your family.

  4. Jaime D. June 10, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Traci, you did have an amazing father!! I love how all of you kids had words to say about him, that was so very touching!! Thank you for allowing allof us to see and experience what you did as his child. He was a very important part of God’s plan and I was blessed to be able to know him! Love you!

  5. Kate June 10, 2010 at 9:28 am #

    Beautiful tribute to your Dad.

  6. Shae Connell June 10, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    You are such a strong woman, a trait you obviously inherited from your dad. Thank you for your words to your dad and for reminding us all to treasure every day God has given us.

  7. ashley sinclair June 10, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    oh trace, that was beautiful. I am so sorry for the loss. we are thinking of you guys

  8. Anissa Aguilar June 11, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    Traci~ Just wanted to let you know that I have been praying for you and your family. Your letter to your dad brought tears to my eyes. Be strong in your faith.

    My condolences,
    Anissa

  9. Kelly June 11, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Traci-
    Thank you for sharing this. Michael & I are so sorry for your loss. We’re praying for you & your family. I’m so thankful that I get to call you my friend! Love you!

  10. Kevan June 14, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    Traci-
    One only has to read this beautifully written tribute to know that your father accomplished his goal…he helped make YOU the wonderful amazing woman that you are. The fact that I could always tell how proud he was of you and your sibs was just another thing that made his such a great man. Love you girl…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Together/Separately « Jen's Blog - June 17, 2010

    […] at Dad’s services yesterday. Here is what I said and if you want to read Jeff’s, it’s here. Traci’s. […]

Leave a Reply

