Running Update

28 Apr

Ok, I have to admit running has taken a backseat over the past few weeks. Since the Capitol 10K in Austin, there has not been any kind of “routine” going on. One week, it seemed like we had something going on every night of the week…you know how it goes, life gets crazy!  Then, I was sick for 6 days and running was completely out of the question. Then, I had to recover from being sick.

But, now things are about to change. Over the past few months, we’ve been running in the evenings or on lunch breaks, which sometimes gets difficult when schedules won’t allow enough time. Now that its not pitch black at 6:15 a.m., I can start back to running in the mornings – which is so much better. Knock it out first thing. Plus, before we know it, it will be sweltering summer heat & mornings are really the only option if you want to survive.

I actually started up the morning routine again yesterday. Ran 2 miles at a slow pace…trying to get back into the swing of things & not wanting to over do it since having had bronchitis. Honestly, it was pretty hard & I struggled through it. Hoping my next run will be a little easier and not make me feel like I’m starting over from scratch! Good grief, I’ve been running for about 5 years now – you would think a girl could take a few weeks off & not struggle to do 2 miles!

I’m excited to get back on a legit schedule & start adding in some long runs on the weekends. I read through my latest copy of Runner’s World while I was out sick last week & got all pumped up. As far as upcoming races…Komen Race for the Cure 5K is next weekend here in Tyler. Then, we’re talking about doing Too Hot To Handle in Dallas again in July, which is a 9 miler. I’d love to find another 10K to do – that is such a fun distance for a race! Also, I’m looking at the Chosen: Half Marathon for Adoption in October in New Braunfels. And of course the White Rock Half in Dallas in December.

For those of you runners that read this blog–I’d love to hear how its going for you, what you’re training for, what schedule you try to stick to, etc. Comment me!

Leave a Reply

