Heavy heart.

18 Mar

Ryan is at the studio and the girls are tucked away in their beds. I am sitting on the couch under a blanket with my laptop listening to nothing but the sounds of the keys as I type. And a cricket outside the front window. Sometimes it is just good to sit still and absorb the silence – the peacefulness.

There is a lot on my mind right now and quite honestly, I feel sad. My heart is heavy. A lot of people in my life are going through some serious issues. From family members, to friends at church, to coworkers, to blog friends. There is just a lot of hurt and various problems going on with many that I love & care about. I am very much a “fixer”…and when I can’t fix something, it makes me sad & I don’t know what to do. But here is what I do know – when something or someone is broken…God can do mighty things. Sometimes, we have to be broken first in order to be used to our full potential in life. God is shaping all of us into what He wants us to be.

This morning as I walked the two blocks from the parking lot to my office, I thought of these 2 verses & tried to meditate on them all day…

“…do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.” –Nehemiah 8:10

“Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds.” — James 1:2

I’ve heard it said before – you have to choose joy. I don’t know about you, but I struggle with this one. But, on the other hand – how could I not be joyful when I think of Jesus, what He did for me, how he’s doing a great work within me, and the end reward of heaven?

“Think about the things of heaven, not the things of earth.” — Colossians 3:2

One Response to “Heavy heart.”

  1. Laura March 19, 2010 at 12:25 am #

    Tracy,

    I’m so sorry for your heavy heart but I thank you so much for your words tonight cause my heart is very heavy also tonight and I needed to hear the words you have had to offer. Thanks again.

Leave a Reply

