Patiently Running.

2 Feb

I’ve heard from a lot of people recently, well maybe over the past 6 months or so, who have started running. I love to get emails or Facebook messages from friends saying they have started running and what programs they are following and what goals they have set for themselves. Its inspiring! It makes me feel so honored when someone asks me for advice or tips to get started…I feel all legit & like a real, true runner!!!

Something that I have shared with a few of these friends who are just starting out is this tid bit of advice: HAVE PATIENCE. This might be the most important advice I could give.

When people begin running, they usually have a goal in mind – a certain amount of weight they want to lose, a certain distance they would like to achieve, 5K race they want to run in, etc. Its so easy to run a few times – not enjoy it, struggle through it, not lose 5 pounds off the bat, and just want to give up. Here’s the deal, when I first started running about 5 years ago, I could honestly barely make it 1/4 mile before I felt as though I would pass out and/or die. I was training for a 5K, that was my goal and why I started. So, what I had to do is slowly (and I mean, s-l-o-w-l-y) work my way up to 3.1 miles. I ran 0.25 on the treadmill several times & then I would just go a little farther each time. And now, 3 miles is my normal week day run! With 3 half-marathons under my belt, I tell people – ANYONE can do it. If I can, anyone can. For real.

Also, don’t try to do too much too soon – because there is a good chance you could cause an injury. So, be patient. Start slowly, add to your miles slowly, give your body time to rest, and be patient with yourself. Pounds will come off in time and you will be able to achieve your goals in time.

If you choose to train for a longer distance run – like a half marathon. Patience comes into play a lot as well because running for an hour to two hours at a time can be daunting. You have to let your mind escape from your body and not dwell on the time it takes. This is where good music on my ipod helps me SO much.

So if you have just started running or are considering it, awesome! I highly recommend it. But remember, patience is key. There’s my little piece of running advice for you today. For what its worth! 🙂

Run on friends.

3 Responses to “Patiently Running.”

  1. Ryan Marc Dixon February 2, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Good post babe! And take breaks is my added advice. Take rest days and weeks if you have too. And don’t let yourself feel guilty for doing so. Anyone can get burn out on anything if you don’t take breaks!

  2. Vicki February 2, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    Very good advice Traci! I unfortunately am no longer a runner (back troubles), BUT I think your advice applies to all work outs in general! I started out not being able to do a mile on my elliptical and now 3 to 5 is a task I can handle daily. I also LOVE the music advice. Any work out can seem mundane if you do it for longer than 30 minutes. Music helps me push past boredome and hit new plateaus! You are a true inspiration to ALL people and especially us mommies!

    • tracidixon February 2, 2010 at 3:05 pm #

      vicki you are too sweet! and you are absolutely right, it applies to all forms of working out. that is awesome that you go that far on the elliptical…you rock!

Leave a Reply

