Whatever you do.

30 Jan

This is where I work.  My office. This is where I spend a good 8 hours of my day, five days a week. On average, about 40 hours a week. 160 hours a month. 1,920 hours a year. Thats a lot of hours! I’m thankful for my job. I love it and I’m blessed with some very awesome co-workers, who I consider friends.

This past week, while running on the treadmill at the gym, I heard a great message. An awesome message in fact. I’ve been listening to podcasts from Matt Carter. If you’re looking for some good, challenging podcasts to download – I highly recommend checking these out here. This particular message, Matt talked about working. A lot of people struggle to figure out what they want to do in life, what they want to be when they grow up, not liking their current job, not liking their boss, feeling as though what they do is unfulfilling, etc. But here’s the deal…God has you where you are for a reason. If you really stop & think about that – it will (should) change your attitude about whatever you are doing. I mean if you truly grasp the fact that whatever you are doing for a job right now – whether its a stay-at-home-mom, a bank teller, or a CEO – God knew you would be there. He has a plan for you there. He has a plan for how you will affect others while you are there. You are working FOR HIM there. If you keep that in your mind – the 1,920 hours you spend at your job each year, those hours will have a ton of purpose. If you currently feel as though what you do is pointless or ineffective – DON’T! If you focus daily on the fact that you are working to please God, not your boss – it changes things. You will go above & beyond what’s expected because you are pleasing God, not your manager. You will work hard each day to bring a smile to God, not your boss. Not only will this help to give you a purpose each day at work, but you will fill a sense of accomplishment knowing that you are working on eternal things, not earthly treasures. This life is not about us...because of Jesus and the gospel, each day should be infused with purpose.

My business card holder on my desk, has the following verse on it & I love the daily reminder…

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.” Colossians 3:23

2 Responses to “Whatever you do.”

  1. Katie January 30, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    So true! I love that….Thanks!

  2. Vicki January 30, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

    Thanks for that awesome reminder Traci!

Leave a Reply

