My new workout routine.

12 Jan

I’m trying something new. Whoa nelly! As most of you know, I’ve been running for several years. On occasion, I’ll do crunches, lift some free weights here & there, and take stroller walks with my baby girls. But nothing too consistent, other than running. I think I’ve reached a plateau – a comfort zone if you will – and need to start pushing myself harder. Not to mention the 7.8 pounds I think I’ve gained over the past couple of months filled with turkey-eating, face stuffing, pie eating goodness.

Well, I’m turning over a new leaf…I’m going to really try to incorporate some cross-training into my running regime. I want to run AND lift weights AND do some form of cross-training (i.e. yoga, swimming, or cycling) each week. I’ve been recording a yoga show called Inhale that comes on the Oxygen channel every morning at 5 a.m. (thanks for the recommendation Hallye).  I’ve done it twice now and wow – its kicking my butt! But I really think all of the stretching will really help my running. I think that’s one of the main reasons I’ve had IT band issues the past couple of months…my hips and leg muscles are not stretched out properly. Honestly, I can’t even touch my toes at this point!

I also have no excuse not to lift weights or do lap swimming. We have access to a nice gym & pool at the college where Ryan works. So, my plan is to add some of these things into my weekly workout routine that will help me as a runner…and help me to hopefully get super buff & totally ripped. Ha!

Several people have asked me what my normal routine is, what time of day I run, etc…well, below is what I’m thinking it will be for the next few months…at least until training for my next half marathon begins. Note: this is always subject to change due to unexpected mommy duties – which does & always will supersede.

6 a.m. Workout Schedule:

Monday, Wednesday, Friday: run 3-5 miles & lift weights

Tuesday: yoga & abs

Thursday: swimming or cycling & lift weights

Saturdays: run long run (6-12 miles)

Sunday: REST!

Also, when the weather gets nice again, we’ll start taking our nightly family walks through the neighborhood.

So wish me luck on my new routine! Gonna try it out for a while & make the necessary changes as I go. Now, let me hear from you…what do you do to change up your workout routine every now & then to push yourself? I’d love to hear what works (or doesn’t work) for you!

2 Responses to “My new workout routine.”

  1. Kloé January 12, 2010 at 6:54 pm #

    Hey, that’s great! I bet you’ll really see a huge difference cross training and lifting. I had a knee injury that kept me from running to much, so I incorporated lots of cross and weights, and my fitness level has definitely improved! Good Luck!

    – Kloé
    http://threegreenleaves.wordpress.com

  2. Jessica January 13, 2010 at 2:10 pm #

    Hey, you are going to have sooo much fun changing things up. I loved swimming. It’s my absolute favorite. I would just slap on some fins and I could go forever. It’s kinda my “running” and it’s a great all in one work out.

Leave a Reply

