White Rock

13 Dec

Its Sunday evening and I am whooped and about to head to bed as soon as possible! We had such a great weekend. On Saturday, we met up with Matt & Rachel at Starbucks in Mequite. It was so great seeing them…they are such a sweet couple! Rach & I have been great friends for a very long time. She just found out she is expecting her second child and Matt just took a new job, which will allow them to move to Dallas within the next two years, which I could not be more excited about!

After a yummy Peppermint Mocha,we headed to the Race Expo to pick up our packets. Such a cool experience to be surrounded by thousands and thousands of other people with the same hobby & passion for running as you. Our big purchase here – $1 energy jelly beans for the race. It was cool to walk through and check out all of the vendor booths, find out about upcoming races, and do some shoe shopping.

That evening, we chowed down on some pasta at Spaghetti Warehouse, which was quite tasty! Part of the fun of participating in races is the food you eat prior to the race and post-race. My Dad joined us, along with Jessica Smith (from Quitman) and her family.

This morning was RACE DAY and it was amazing. The course was great, the weather was perfect, and we achieved our time goals! Such an enjoyable run. Ryan was blazing & ran faster than he ever has on a long run…I was so proud of him. You can read all about his run here. And as always, I get so proud of my Dad when I see him crossing the finish line! I mean really, not many people can say that their dad runs half-marathons with them! Me? Well, I finished at 2:06, about 9:30 pace, which was what I hoped for. My IT band hurt for the first couple of miles, but then let up & I felt no pain from it the remainder of the run. Such a blast! This is a race I would highly recommend! Its so cool that its one of the top half-marathons in the U.S. and its so close to us. We loved it & will cherish the memory of this day. I am also so proud of our friends that accomplished White Rock too…great job guys!

Here are our posted results for those of you that want the details…


6 Responses to “White Rock”

  1. Jennifer December 14, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    you guys are amazing always running races!! I definitely detest running so much I could never do what you do. Way to go on your times!!

  2. Mom December 14, 2009 at 9:16 am #

    great job!!! i am impressed with the rankings you had out of so many people!!!

  3. Kate December 14, 2009 at 2:46 pm #

    Way to go! So proud of you!

  4. Dona Keith December 14, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    Way to go guys! Thanks for posting the pics of Rachel and Matt. I haven’t seen her since we moved – she looks great of course. I love her sweet smile! You need to talk her into getting onto facebook. Get some rest – I am sure the girls missed you.

  5. mom December 14, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    where was ellie???

    • tracidixon December 15, 2009 at 11:52 am #

      it was naptime.

Leave a Reply

