12 Days of Training

1 Dec

12 days until the White Rock Half! I think I am ready…I sure hope so. We completed the 8 mile Turkey Trot last week. I ran 5 on Sunday morning.  3 this morning.  Will run again a couple of times this week…4 or 5 miles.  Then, this weekend will shoot for 10.  Resting a couple of days, then a couple more 3-5 milers…then resting some more, then RACE DAY!

My pace lately has been around 9:15, on average…sometimes faster, depending the length of the run. I’ve been having some IT band issues…tight/achy muscle on the outside of my left knee. Hoping & praying this goes away before Dec. 13th. From what I’ve read on Runnersworld.com, stretching out the hips is really important to help this issue. So I’ve been stretching a ton! Maybe I should give Pilates a try? I’ve been offered a free session from one of my clients at work.

Really looking forward to White Rock…seeing some old friends, going to the race Expo, eating at Spaghetti Warehouse to carb up, and of course the race itself. Twill be fun times!

Us crossing the finish line last week at the Turkey Trot. Wahoo!

One Response to “12 Days of Training”

  1. runningali December 6, 2009 at 11:53 pm #

    7 days! Enjoy this week of tapering and getting ready! You will do great! Then you definitely should think about a full!

Leave a Reply

