Turkeys, Trots, and Trees

27 Nov

Ryan, Dad, and I went to downtown Dallas on Thanksgiving morning to run in the YMCA Turkey Trot. We had a great time! There were over 37,000 people there participating…lots of turkeys! I think I read somewhere that this is the largest Turkey Trot in the U.S. We did the 8 mile run, but there is also a 3 mile fun-run that a lot of families participate in. Such a great way to start your Thanksgiving holiday! We enjoy this race & look forward to it every year. Ryan slowed his roll so he could run with me (such a sweet hubby)…I’ll post pics from the actual race when they are up on the Turkey Trot site. Next up…White Rock Half Marathon in 2 weeks!

After the race, we went back to Quitman to the Skinner family Thanksgiving at Memaw’s house. Its always good to see everyone. I feel blessed to have such a great family! And of course, football the rest of the day. UT vs. A&M last night was a crazy game! Glad the Horns pulled it off.

This morning, we had a nice, lazy morning. Got up and had a big breakfast – pannycakes (as Addi calls them) & lattes. Then in Dixon tradition, we put on the Christmas music & put up our Christmas tree & decor. The girls were so helpful this year! They had a blast putting the ornaments on the tree…

Then, we headed back to Q-town to the Clark family Thanksgiving. My mom cooks a feast every year and it really is so amazing! Turkey, dressing, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, green beans, mac & cheese, rolls, cranberry sauce, caramel pie, chocolate delight, apple cobbler, and sweet tea.  On my goodness, it was good! Wow, I’m still full.

I love my family so very much and I am truly thankful for everything God has blessed me with. Hope you all had a great Thanksgiving…love to all!

One Response to “Turkeys, Trots, and Trees”

  1. Ryan Marc Dixon November 28, 2009 at 11:05 pm #

    T’was a great weekend indeed! I loved it and t’would vote for a 3 day work week any time 🙂

Leave a Reply

