You registered, now finish!

22 Nov

I love my church. The people, the vision, the purpose, the mission, the worship…I love it. Today, Pastor Doug brought a great message about knowing Christ, one of which I could easily relate.

“…forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead, I strain to reach the end of the race and receive the prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us up to heaven.”  – Philippians 3:13-14

He compared life to a marathon race. He’s actually done a few marathons in his life, which is admirable! I’ve only accomplished half’s…maybe, just maybe I’ll complete a full one day. Maybe. Something that he said stuck out to me the most…”When you register for a race, you run the course that is set out for you. You can’t circumvent the hard spots.” His point? Life is very similar to a race…there will be big hills to climb, it might be raining & cold, you might not be feeling well…but you still run it.  You signed up, you registered for the race…you have to press forward and finish. Set your eyes on the goal and just do it. Same can be said about life. We all know that life is hard…it just is. There will be ups and downs, hard times, struggles, etc. But the struggles help to transform us. Just like running hills & speed work makes a runner stronger. Also, another good point he made was that during a marathon, you don’t look back at the hill you just ran up and think that you should go back and run up it again. That would just be dumb! You have to forget the past – its done. If we keep reverting to our failures in the past, of course we will trip. Distractions along the route can be a hindrance as well, but you continue to stay focused on the finish line and push on, move forward one step at a time. I loved this message and the reminder to keep my focus on the true prize, the real finish line. And to finish strong! Rejoice along the way, and when the goin’ gets tough…again I say rejoice.

“Yes, everything else is worthless when compared with the priceless gain of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. I have discarded everything else, counting it all as garbage, so that I may have Christ and become one with him.” – Philippians 3:8-9

Leave a Reply

