Apples to Apples

17 Nov

Several years ago, I took a fabulous mentoring class/Bible study called Apples of Gold at Beth Sinclair’s home, one of my favorite ladies of all time. It basically was a time for younger, newly married women to meet with older & wiser, more experienced women to learn from them about marriage, family, raising kids, and cooking. Fun! Each session, we would cook dinner together and then talk about one chapter of the book, Apples of Gold. It was a special time of sharing, getting into the Word, and praying together to be better wives & mommy’s. I loved it so much & learned some very invaluable stuff! I have a recipe notebook that has many recipes I received from Apples of Gold in it and it brings back great memories when I run across one of them! I pulled out one recently (because there is a sale at Brookshire’s on frozen apple pies) that I thought I would share with you. It’s one of the easiest ones, yet one of the best! With the holidays coming up, I thought this might come in handy for some you…

 

Apple Cobbler

(thank you Wendy Reeves)


2 Granny Smith frozen apple pies

1 cup of sugar

1/4 cup apple juice

1 stick of melted butter

cinnamon to taste (I added this to the recipe)

Let apple pies defrost as according to directions on box. Break the pies up into small pieces and place in one 9×13 inch baking dish. Drizzle melted butter all over the top. Pour on the apple juice. Sprinkle with all of the sugar & cinnamon. Bake for the recommended amount of time on pie box. Let cool and serve.


Wallah…the best apple cobbler! No, seriously, that’s all there is to it. People will think its homemade, it is so tasty. Add a scoop of vanilla ice cream to it and oh my! No one has to know it’s just frozen apple pies! Just call me Sandra Lee…minus the matching outfit to my kitchen decor and massive tablescapes.

Below is a pic of Beth with Addison when she was only a few months old! I love this pic. I miss all of the Sinclair family dearly. Just for grins, I added a couple of pics just for you Ashley….geez this was so long ago!

2 Responses to “Apples to Apples”

  1. mom November 18, 2009 at 8:43 am #

    this recipe is sooooo good!!!! add my recommendations to it!!!!

  2. shannon morrison November 18, 2009 at 9:36 am #

    apples of gold equals best bible study ever!

Leave a Reply

