This one’s for you Becky.

4 Nov

The following post was inspired by a question presented to me on Facebook, see below…

Picture 1

Becky, first of all let me start by saying – being a mommy & finding the time to run is quite the chore! Time for yourself is hard to come by when you work full-time, are a wife, a mom, a chef, keeping the house clean, doing the laundry, and the list goes on & on! Its just absolutely crazy busy. Honestly, the only solution I have found to work is this…

Ryan & I rotate out mornings that we run. I will typically get up around 5:45, which I’m not going to lie is very hard to do! I either go to the gym by 6ish and run on the treadmill 3 to 5 miles and then lift a few weights.  Or, now that its lighter earlier, running outside is an option again. (I’m a scaredy cat and won’t run outside alone in the dark.)  I don’t get to run or work out every day…I just can’t. But doing every other day seems to work just fine for us.  Plus it gives your body time to rest. Then, on Saturday’s we take turns running our long runs….8-10 miles. Sometimes when Jen is home, Ryan & I run together…or Jen runs w/me. But seriously, getting it out of the way first thing in the morning seems to be the best option for us. Because after work, you are not only tired from the day, but you have to do dinner, kids’ baths, etc. Plus, I want to spend as much time as possible in the evenings together as a family…playing with the girls, watching TV with Ryan, and just chilling! So, getting it done while they sleep in the mornings works perfectly. I will say that when we were living in Quitman and commuting to Tyler (barf) – mornings weren’t an option b/c we already were getting up so early so we could leave Quitman by 6:30 to head to work! So, nights were the only option at that time….so we would wait until after the girls were in bed, and then hit the treadmill, otherwise known as the dreadmill. Sometimes we’d be out there at 10 p.m….ugh. I am SOOOO glad, for multiple reasons – many of which don’t pertain to running at all, that is not the case anymore! I love to run in the morning because it just helps me to get the day going on the right foot (pardon the pun) and I feel healthier and have more energy throughout the day. Plus, if you throw some worship music on your ipod and also use it as your quiet time – its even better! So there is how we fit it into our crazy schedule…it works for us. I know every situation is different for everyone, but I hope this helps you somewhat! Other mommy’s out there…I’d love to hear what works for you! How do you fit working out into your schedule?

Here is a pic of Becky & her husband John that I took about a year ago at our coffee shop in Q-town…Studio Java after the Cents 4 Sophie 5K….

beckyandjohn

Oh, one more thing Becky…we are planning to do the Austin Capitol 10k next April…you guys should join us!

Until next time…run on!

Love, Traci

2 Responses to “This one’s for you Becky.”

  1. Becky Taylor November 5, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    Thanks Traci! – I’m an odd “mommy” since I am taking care of the Grandkids right now, that could be part of it, I’m old. I do remember, with envy, all the energy I had when my own kids were little. I receintly went thru a very sleepy time and the doc put me on B complex vitamins, I think EVERY ONE should take B complex, wow. So I know that had a lot to do with my lack of energy. We get up real early – like 5:00 AM and John has to be to work at 7:00 AM, so morning runs would have to be in the dark sometime around 4:30 – umm, not for me! So we’ve taken to the dreadmill – and I get to squeeze in a Friday evening run now and then. I do like the rotate thing you do, as a must do – I really like running With John, but we have to make sacrafices – I tell you it has been really hard going from Empty Nest to having little kids again. It’s not forever tho. I am proud of you guys making fitness and family your priorities.
    And YES we are running the Cap10K again – we have to get together!!
    Take care of you!!Miss you!!
    Becky

  2. Jessica November 9, 2009 at 3:34 pm #

    I always wondered how you guys did that. I never thought to ask (lots of things don’t come to mind very quickly anymore lol). That type of schedule would work for more things. I think I’ll try it.

Leave a Reply

