Run the Rock.

30 Oct

masthead102209

Yay! Ryan & I are now officially registered for the Dallas White Rock Half Marathon.  The race is Sunday, December 13 – it begins and ends at Victory Park at the American Airlines Center. My dad, sister and several of our friends are running as well. Woohoo! I’ve always wanted to do this race. Ryan ran in it the year I was pregnant with Kamryn….it was actually very close to my due date, so he carried his cell phone the whole time in case I went into labor! My dad, sister, and older brother have all run in it a few times too.

Race day is only 6 weeks away…let the training begin to another 13.1! Lately, my running schedule has been something like this:

Run 3 to 5 miles 2 to 3 times a week at the gym. I try to lift weights and do abs while I’m there too. Then on Saturdays, run longer outside – somewhere between 6-10 miles. So for the next 6 weeks, I’ll try to up my mileage to 5 miles – 3 times a week and then 8-13 miles on the weekends. I’ve been working on my speed lately. I ran 3 miles the other night at 8:22 pace…which, for me, is blazing! 2 Saturdays ago, I ran 10 miles at 9:12 pace. My pace at San Fran was around 9:45, so if I can beat that at White Rock, I’ll be happy! I’m always just excited to finish.

So far, the people I know that are doing this race are: me, Ryan, Dad, Jen, Jessica, Kyle, Justin & Jana. If you are running it, let me know. It will be great to see familiar faces as we set out for 13.1!

Leave a Reply

