Attention all my running friends!

12 Sep

runon

Are you a runner? Do you have upcoming races you are training for? I’d love to hear from you! Leave me a comment and let me know what you are training for. Something I have found to be true is this…encouragement & accountability from other runners is SO helpful, not to mention motivational & challenging! I know that there are several of you out there, from all over, that are in training…so lets band together and help motivate each other. Plus, there may be some of us out there registered for the same races…in which case, we should meet up! Also, I posted a blog not long ago about the reasons I love to run. You can read it here. Why do you like to run? I’d love to hear your reasons!

Here, I’ll start…

On my race calendar:

Now its your turn! Comment away & run on.

15 Responses to “Attention all my running friends!”

  1. ashley September 12, 2009 at 5:18 pm #

    yay! I get to leave a comment! my first race is october 3rd and it’s a 5k. I love to run because it makes me feel good and gives me a sense of accomplishment. haven’t had much weight come off yet, but hopefully that will be an advantage soon! love you

    • tracidixon September 16, 2009 at 10:52 am #

      ash – i am so proud of you!!! i really wish i could come run this with you. is danny doing it too? the race for the cure 5k was my first race several years ago! i hope you enjoy it…i can’t wait to hear all about it. love you!

  2. kipclark September 13, 2009 at 7:01 am #

    One of the most satisfying things I say is, “I am a runner”. I am currently training for the Manchester City half-Marathon (New Hampshire – November 1st) You just never know where running will take you!!

    1. Manchester, New Hampshire – November 1st
    2. Dallas YMCA Turkey Trot – Thanksgiving morning (8miles)
    3. Dallas White Rock half-Marathon – December 13
    4. Statesman 10k, Austin – March 29

    And I have recently begun to give some serious consideration to the Mardi Gras Half Marathon in New Orleans, February 28th. I checked this one out and it is probably the flattest course in all creation AND I have a niece that lives near New Orleans. I love “flat” and I love to run and I love my niece. Anybody interested in joining me/us?

    I loved reading Ashley’s comment about her “first race”. How exciting for her and how great for all of us to be able to encourage her and cheer for her from afar.

    One of the most emotional times in my life was the first time I crossed a finish line in a half-marathon. Me, male, near 60 years old, and I could not keep myself from the tears of satisfaction and pride. It was a personal “great day”!!

    Let’s all hope that Ashley will cry on October 3rd for the same reasons and that it will the first of many finish lines for her.

    go, runners!!

    • tracidixon September 16, 2009 at 10:53 am #

      that’s MY dad! love you.

  3. Jessica September 13, 2009 at 2:50 pm #

    I have only registered for 2 more “races”, but I’m considering several more.

    Tour des Fleurs 10K, September 19
    Dallas White Rock 1/2, Dec 13

    Running is my therapy, my stress relief, my “me” time and my obsession (says jeremy). šŸ™‚

    • tracidixon September 16, 2009 at 10:53 am #

      tyler half…tyler half…tyler half!

  4. Lauren September 14, 2009 at 12:02 pm #

    Running is one of my passions now!! I absolutely love it! Over a year and a half ago I thought running 3 miles was awful and especially getting up early to run. Now I get up every morning at 5 and run 5 miles!! It is my stress relief, my therapy, my “me” time and my obsession also Jessica!! I also love that I can turn on my ipod and listen to praise music first thing in the morning and start my day off on the right track! I also love that Ive lost weight from running and working out, and I love my legs now!! I always wanted runners legs!! I haven’t decided yet on all my races but there are a few in my mind.

    1. Tyler Half – October 17, 2009 (this is the only one I am sure of right now)
    2. Women’s Half in Florida – Its sometime in November and I would really like to do it, but not alone
    3. Whiterock Half – December 2009
    4. Maybe the Austin race or the Mardi Gra half would be fun Kip

    And who knows what else I will do, it just depends on what my schedule looks like, but I am up for anything!!

    I LOVE RUNNING!!!

    • tracidixon September 16, 2009 at 10:57 am #

      hahaha…love the comment about the legs!!! awesome.

  5. Laci September 15, 2009 at 11:08 am #

    Hey, I walked 1 mile this morning and ran it back home! I have questions..I’m super ignorant of running stuff! Do you use certain breathing techniques? How long do you war up before a long run? Do you wear a certain brand of shoes and is tht a must have? Please rain down your running wisdom!

    • tracidixon September 16, 2009 at 10:50 am #

      Girl, I’m so proud of you! Good job on running back home. To answer your questions…first and foremost, as Kyle says below, shoes are vitally imporatant! And so our socks for that matter. I love my Saucony’s…they have been my favorite brand thus far. But the best thing to do is go to a running store and have someone see what kind of arch you have, see if you over or under pronate, etc. I always buy a 1/2 a shoe size larger on my running shoes b/c feet swell when they sweat. My favorite socks are Feetures and Ballego’s. The cheapest way to purchase these will probably be online…try Amazon. To warm up – I usually just stretch lightly and walk for a few minutes. Then, be sure & stretch really well after the run. I don’t really use any special breathing techniques…in fact, I try hard not to focus on breathing b/c when I focus on it, it messes me up! I always listen to music – drowns out my heavy breathing and helps to motivate me. Also, another piece of running gear I can’t live without is my Garmin watch…its awesome. Hope this info helps! Keep us posted.

  6. kyle September 15, 2009 at 1:15 pm #

    i’ve been running for a couple of years now, mostly just for myself and the enjoyment of it. my first “official” race will be the white rock half-marathon in december. unfortunately, due to my job, i travel a lot and am almost always gone on weekends when races occur. i’ll be out of town for the austin half-marathon in february, but will hopefully be able to run the 10K in april.

    it took me a long time to enjoy running. for a while, when i couldn’t do more than a couple of miles at a time, i was frustrated. but as i built up stamina and began to be able to do 5 or 6 without much challenge, i really enjoyed the time spent outside thinking and watching the deer around my neighborhood. i lost a lot of weight and i always sleep so well at night after a run. it is a good personal challenge. on the days when i’m tired or sore, it feels like an accomplishment to push myself through.

    laci, i am by no means an expert and haven’t ever really read about running, but i’ve learned a few things since i began running that might be helpful. first, it’s all about the shoes. i started running in a regular pair of tennis shoes and when i switched to a proper pair of running shoes, it made all the difference. i prefer asics, but there are a lot of good brands. traci would probably know better than i would. academy has good sales pretty often. i don’t warm up a ton before i run, about 5 minutes of good stretching and a minute or two of light jogging. probably different for everybody. i don’t really have a breathing technique so much: in fact, when i think about my breathing too much it becomes tougher. i will, however, kind of alternate between taking a longer stride which pushes my legs but gives my upper body a break and taking shorter strides which does the opposite. if i start to get tired, i’ll switch to the other. a few pointers from a novice…

    • tracidixon September 16, 2009 at 10:58 am #

      kyle – we totally need to meet up w/you & the cofields in dallas at the half. can’t wait! also, if you decide to do the austin 10k, let me know…the ivey’s are running that w/us.

  7. Brandi Ghanbarpour September 15, 2009 at 3:26 pm #

    I am running in the Run for the Cure 5K at Oyster Creek Park in Sugar Land on October 10.

    • tracidixon September 16, 2009 at 10:59 am #

      brandi – good luck!!! hope your ankle stops giving you grief.

  8. Vicki September 18, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    I have to say Traci, I USED to be a runner. And I miss it. My docs keep telling me to find some other way to stay fit, so I’ve been doing the elliptical since before Brooke was born, but I miss the fresh air I got while running! Do you know of anyone that has recovered from a back injury and still runs? I am hoping so….just hoping this isn’t a lifelong sentence for me….

    I am so proud to read about your runs, and very proud of Ashley for getting started!

Leave a Reply

