Today is important.

1 Sep

“This is the day the Lord has made. We will rejoice and be glad in it.” – Psalm 118:24

“My biggest desire as far as my time goes is to choose how to spend it purposefully rather than have it chosen for me by the dictator known as Default.” – Kristen Armstrong

Ryan & I have talked a lot recently about cherishing each moment, making the most of each day, and not just living life always waiting for the next thing. If you know us well or have kept up with our blog, you know that the past few years have been absolute craziness. The birth of our daughters, moving from Lubbock to Quitman, opening a business, closing a business, searching for jobs, deaths in the family, moving to Tyler, starting new jobs, finding a new church, starting new day cares, etc. A lot going on. But guess what? That’s just life…and it will continue to be crazy from now on. Maybe not to that extent (and thank God for that!), but as I grow older, I realize that life is just absolutely nuts…there is always something going on – whether it be good or bad. We humans are a busy people. So, Ryan & I have decided to strive to embrace each day and each moment as they come. This is our latest goal as parents and in our  marriage. We challenge each other to remember this daily. When we are with our kids, we don’t want to be thinking of other things…we just want to be with our kids.  Enjoy the precious time we have with them – reading to them, playing tickle fest, and cuddle time…because we know, in the blink of an eye, they will be teenagers. I can’t even think about that without getting teary eyed!

Its easy to get caught up…waiting for Friday, waiting for payday, waiting for vacation, waiting until this happens or that happens…not wrong things for sure.  Just normal things. BUT, do you embrace the Monday’s & Tuesday’s? Do you live in the moment, so you don’t look up one day & realize you’ve wasted precious days, weeks, and years?

I, for one, want to live each day purposefully. Today is a gift and we will never have it again. TODAY is important.

With love,

Traci

6 Responses to “Today is important.”

  1. Vicki September 1, 2009 at 3:35 pm #

    LOVE it Traci, thanks for the awesome reminder!

  2. Laura September 1, 2009 at 4:18 pm #

    You hit it right on the head. I love your wisdom and your blog.

    Thanks!

  3. Jessica September 1, 2009 at 4:23 pm #

    Geez, we miss you guys. Hug the girls for us.

  4. Aunt Debbie September 1, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    I wished I were as wise as you when I was your age, keep it going Traci you are jewel! Love ya to pieces!

  5. Dianna September 2, 2009 at 10:16 pm #

    Life is a gift and you don’t know what hand you’re gonna get dealt next. You learn to take life as it comes at you and to make each day count.

    I’m so glad we are friends.

  6. kipclark September 4, 2009 at 6:54 am #

    You can’t imagine how my heart filled with love and pride when I read this. My daughter – full of wisdom, adventure, and determination. Normally, I say to run, “run on”, but this morning, I say “write on!”.

Leave a Reply

